Inviting external collaborators to a team

Inviting external collaborators to a workspace

You can invite people to Vev on an account, team, or workspace level. Anyone added on a team or workspace level will be considered an external collaborator and won’t appear as a billable user on your account. As such, these are ideal options when you want to work with freelancers, consultants, and agencies in Vev.

Inviting external collaborators to a team

Inviting external collaborators to a team will automatically give them access to all the workspaces within that team. Here’s how it works, step by step.

Select the team To start, make sure you’re in the correct team. Just head to the projects dashboard if you need to switch teams:

  • Click the overflow menu for the team you’re currently viewing and select Change team

  • Select the team you want to view (external teams you’ve been invited to will also appear here)

  • Your selected team will now appear on the left panel

From there, you can invite an external collaborator:

  • Click your team’s overflow menu

  • Select Team members from the dropdown menu

  • Click Invite user

  • Enter your collaborator’s email address and (optionally) assign them a role from the dropdown list. Leave the Also add users to your account box unchecked.

Note: You will be billed for anyone added at an account level. External collaborators are charged on their own Vev accounts.

Once invited, your external collaborator will receive an email invite, which they need to accept to join your team.

Inviting external collaborators to a workspace

Only want your external collaborator to access projects within one specific workspace? Not a problem. Just head to the projects dashboard:

  • Click the cogwheel icon next to your workspace followed by the Members tab

  • Invite as many people as you like to collaborate with you in this workspace

Again, all invited external collaborators will receive an email invite, which they’ll need to accept to join your workspace.


FAQs

The people listed on a team or workspace don’t match the people listed on my account. You can invite external collaborators to a team or workspace in Vev. Doing so will only give them access to your selected teams and workspaces. Adding people to your account grants them access to all teams and workspaces. You are billed for everyone added on an account level.

Do I have to pay to invite external collaborators? You only pay for the people that appear on your account list. Any external collaborators added to teams or workspaces only will need to pay for their own Vev account.

Why can I only have one team? The Professional plan includes one team. To create additional teams, contact sales@vev.design to discuss upgrading to the Organization plan.

Where can I view the workspaces that have been shared with me? When a workspace is shared with you, it will appear in the Shared with me tab on the left of the projects dashboard.

When working with external collaborators, where are projects made, how do we “deliver/publish” them, and who pays for them? When an external collaborator is invited to a team or workspace on your account, all published projects are charged to your account. In short, published projects are charged to the account they were created in.

Did this answer your question?