All Collections
The Design Editor
Version History (Beta)
Version History (Beta)

Copy content, view changes, or restore pages of an earlier project version

Diego Muralles avatar
Written by Diego Muralles
Updated over a week ago

Features in beta are still being actively worked on, so you might experience unexpected behaviors or errors when using them. If you ever come across this, please send our friendly Support team a message so we can improve the feature. Just click the chat bubble in the bottom-right corner of your screen to send feedback.

Version History makes collaborating in Vev even more secure by providing a full record of all the changes made to your projects throughout their lifetime. It's a great tool for going back in time to see how designs have evolved, as well as recovering past nuggets of copy. Acting as your team's creative memory, it ensures nothing is ever permanently overwritten or lost.

Versions of your projects are automatically saved and stored in the version history. Use this history to:

  • Copy any previous content to the present

  • View changes made by who

  • Restore pages from an earlier version

On the Starter plan, you can only view the last 30 days of project versions.

Open the Version History panel

  1. From the Design Editor, open the project menu in the top-left corner

  2. Click "Show version history"

A panel will open to the right of your canvas showing all historic versions of your project.

View a previous version

To easily review changes made to a project, just select a previous version of it from the version history list. In this list you can also view who made changes to a version, with an overview of all the edits and the time they were made.

You can filter the version history list by:

  • All (default): Lists all your versions

  • Published: Lists all versions that have been published to a destination

  • Manually saved: Lists all versions that were manually saved by a user

  • Auto-saved: Lists all versions that were automatically saved by Vev

While previewing, you can browse the different pages and layers of a past version. Just click the layers panel for details on what was changed and by whom.

Copy and paste from a previous version

When viewing a previous version of a project, you can copy any content from the canvas and paste it into the current version you are working on. This is a massive time saver when you want to reuse past copy, as you don't have to write it out again or hunt down the original copy file.

Restore a previous version

Want to roll your project back to an older design? Not a problem.

  1. Open the version history

  2. Select the version to restore

  3. Click the blue "Restore" button or the overflow menu on your selected version

  4. Confirm which version and pages to restore

Once confirmed, your current version will become the version you selected to restore.

When you restore a version, Vev will automatically save a backup of the version you had immediately before the roll-back.

Manually save a version

Even though Vev automatically saves versions of your project for you, we've baked in the option to manually save a version for an extra layer of creative control and security.

  1. Open the version history

  2. Click the "Add to version history" button next to the "Close" button

  3. Give the version a name to make it easier to find (optional)

Once saved, a manually saved version will be added to the version history. You can easily rename any version in the overflow menu.

Did this answer your question?