Proration adjusts costs for any changes you make during a billing cycle. This means that adding or removing users and project plans will result in either prorated charges or credits, which will appear on your next monthly invoice.
Account plan upgrades will take place immediately, and any credit for unused time on your current subscription will be instantly applied to the new invoice for your upgraded plan. Account plan downgrades will take effect at the end of your billing cycle.
What happens when I add a new user or project plan to my existing subscription?
When you add a user or a project plan to your account in the middle of a billing cycle, the prorated cost from the transaction date to the date on your next billing period will be reflected on your next invoice.
You sign up for a Professional plan on the 1st of September and are charged $59 for one Professional User for the month of September.
On September 15th, you want to add a colleague to your Vev account. Since you’re only paying for the second user for half of your billing cycle, a prorated charge of $29.50 will be reflected on your upcoming invoice, in addition to the charges for two users for the upcoming month.
September invoice for one user: $59/month
October invoice for two users: $118/month + $29.50 (prorated charge for 2nd user for September)
What happens when I remove a user or project plan?
Similarly, if you remove a user or a project plan from your account, we will credit your next invoice for the remaining time left on that user or project plan from the transaction date to the date of your next billing period.
You signed up for a Professional plan with two users on September 1st, and you are charged $118 for two Professional Users for the month of September.
On September 15th, you want to remove a colleague from your Vev account. Since you’re only paying for the second user for half of your billing cycle, a proration credit of $29.50 will be reflected on your upcoming invoice, in addition to the charge for the one remaining user.
September invoice for two users: $118/month
October invoice for one user: $59/month - $29.50 (prorated credit for removing the 2nd user on September 15). Total charge with prorated credit = $29.50.
November invoice for one user: $59/month
Understanding your invoice
In this example, the billing cycle begins on the 2nd of each month.
On the 24th of May, an additional user was added to their account, resulting in a total of 8 users instead of 7. The first product line represents the prorated amount for the 8 users, covering the period from the 24th until the start of the new cycle on the 2nd. This means you only pay for the duration between the change and the beginning of the next cycle.
The second line shows the credited amount for the previous 7 users during the same period, as the first product line already accounts for the new price.
The last product line indicates the amount you will pay for the next cycle, considering the 8 users. If any changes are made during that cycle, they will be reflected in the subsequent invoice.
To summarize, you pay in advance for your current month's usage, and any modifications to your subscription will be accounted for and reflected in the following invoice.
Upgrading your plan
Plan upgrades will take effect immediately, and will change your billing cycle to start on the date the upgrade occurred. Your current plan will be canceled and all unused money on your old plan will be applied as a credit to your new one.
You and three colleagues are on the Starter plan with three project plans (3 x $7/month = $21). Your billing cycle renews on the 1st of the month. On September 15th, you upgrade to the Professional plan. Your Starter plan is upgraded to Professional, and the remaining $10.50 of unused time on your project plans will be applied to the invoice for your plan upgrade.
September 1 - Starter with 3 project plans: $21
September 15 (new billing start date) - Professional plan with 3 users and 3 project plans: $177/month for 3 users + $21/month for 3 project plans - $10.50 credit for unused project plan time on Starter plan = $187.50.
Downgrading your plan
Similar to upgrades, downgrading your plan will result in a credit on your Vev account. Your billing cycle renews on the 1st of the month.
On September 15th, you downgrade from the Professional to the Starter plan. Any unused money will be applied as a credit to your account and applied to future invoices.
Cancellations will take place until the end of the paid billing cycle; downgrading and cancellations don’t count toward proration.
For more information on Billing and to download your past invoices, go to your Vev subscriptions page.