If a project is a file, then the workspace is your folder. A workspace is a smart folder where your projects (sites) live. Make sure to explore the built-in features in these smart folders.
Organise these by topics, clients, etc.
Create New Workspace
Enter your Team Overview where you'll find your Team Workspaces. Here you'll see the "Create New Workspace" button.
Add a name to your workspace. If you like, you can add a color palette and enable any existing hosting. You can choose to do this later as well in the Workspace Settings. Click "Create" to activate your new Workspace.
Within your Workspace, you have access to four tabs: Projects, Templates, Hosting, and Settings.
The Workspace name should be descriptive. If you create sites on behalf of clients, we recommend naming the Workspace after the client.
If you create sites on behalf of a client, type in their URL in this field, and their company logo will automatically appear as the Workspace thumbnail. If you don't add an Associated URL, the Workspace Palette will determine the thumbnail.
In this text field, you can grant access to this particular Workspace to other Vev users outside of your team.
Add users by entering their email address under the Add new user text field. If the invited party already has a Vev user account, the confirmation button will say Add User. If the invited party does not already have a Vev User Account, the confirmation button will say "Invite", and the person will get an email with instructions to create a new account. The user will then have access to all the projects contained within the workspace.
Users that have been granted permission to your workspace can have their access permission set to one of the following: 'Can edit' or 'Can use'.
Table of permission
The user can edit and publish all projects in this workspace.
The user has access to view and read all projects in this workspace.
The user will not have access to any of your team's other Workspaces.
This feature can be used to enable your clients to edit the site themselves, or it can be used to collaborate with resources outside of your respective team.
How to move a Workspace from one team to another
When adding a Workspace while in the Team Overview, the Workspace will automatically belong to the respective team.
One workspace can only belong to one Team.
If you are a member of two teams, you can move the Workspace to another team by clicking on the Team name and picking another team in the dropdown menu.
Workspace Default Colours
You can add a workspace color theme; e.g. to apply your client's brand colors to the given workspace. This will be the default palette for all projects created within this Workspace.
You can also add customized workspace fonts. Click '+Add custom font' or '+Add Google font' in your workspace settings. The font will then be available when creating new Projects within the given Workspace.
When creating a Workspace, you can add publish settings which will be available when you publish a project through the given Workspace. This might be an existing hosting already set up through the Team Settings, or a new one only available to this specific Workspace.
TIP: If you use Workspaces to organize client projects, this is where you add your client's hosting settings. Read more about hosting for clients here.
This is done through the Hosting Tab. Start by clicking the "Add Hosting" button.
Add existing Hosting, created in the Team Settings, by selecting the Hosting listed as existing to your Workspace.
You will then be directed to Workspace Hosting Settings. These Hosting Settings originate from the original Team Hosting Settings and can be kept as they are, or overwritten in this specific Workspace (without effecting The Team Hosting Settings).
Read more about Workspace specific Hosting Settings here.
Create a new Hosting by clicking the "Create New Hosting Button". Follow these instructions on how to create a new Hosting Instance.
All Team Templates will be available under this tab.
Templates can be available to an entire Team or to a specific Workspace. Edit access rights through the template Sharing settings.
Projects are basically individual websites, which are stored within a workspace – a file in a folder.
Learn more about projects here.
Navigate Between Workspaces
Enter your chosen workspace through the Team Overview tab.
To switch between workspaces, click on the name of the active Workspace to open the workspace selector.
This will list all the workspaces you have access to.
Navigate to Team
To navigate back to your Team Overview, where you also find Team Settings/Hosting/Members, click the Team Profile Image (top left) and select the team in the dropdown menu.